The Beginning: Council on Chiropractic Guidelines and Practice Parameters (CCGPP)

The Council on Chiropractic Guidelines and Practice Parameters (CCGPP) was formed in 1995 at the behest of the Congress of Chiropractic State Associations (COCSA) and with assistance from the American Chiropractic Association (ACA), Association of Chiropractic Colleges, Council on Chiropractic Education, Federation of Chiropractic Licensing Boards, Foundation for the Advancement of Chiropractic Sciences, Foundation for Chiropractic Education and Research, International Chiropractors Association, National Association of Chiropractic Attorneys, and the National Institute for Chiropractic Research.

The mission of the Clinical Compass is to improve patient outcomes by advancing evidence – based care in an effort to transform healthcare through knowledge translation. The Clinical Compass collaborates with every major chiropractic organization, many states and their respective associations, individual chiropractors, as well as other healthcare providers interested in providing the best, most evidence based care to their patients. Participation and process are as transparent as possible and a diverse cross-section of the chiropractic profession is represented.

Creating The Clinical Compass

After CCGPP teams with specific skills review and rate all information gathered from multiple databases (synthesis), this information is then translated into easily usable tools (the “Chiropractic Clinical Compass©”). The synthesis is not the Compass©, it is merely an evidence stratification for the most common conditions seen by chiropractic doctors. CCGPP recognizes that information in this format is difficult to digest and implement. To assist comprehension and ease of application, the synthesis will be translated for use in the treatment room via a DIER (Dissemination, Implementation, Evaluation, and Revision) process (see Powerpoint presentation on the Introduction page of this website for more details on this process). This process will ultimately produce the Chiropractic Clinical Compass©. In addition, in today’s ever-changing health care environment, the literature synthesis can be used for many purposes and CCGPP is flexible and responsive to rapidly changing trends and needs.

The Clinical Compass Board

The Clinical Compass Board represents a diverse cross-section of the profession. Besides full-time private practice chiropractic physicians, there are representatives from the ChiroCongress, the American Chiropractic Association (ACA), the chiropractic colleges, chiropractic attorneys, as well as public and vendor members.

Board Members

Dr. Louis S. Crivelli

Years of service: 

Practice Location: Goddard, MD


Dr. Scott Mooring
Vice Chair DC, CCSP, FICC

Years of service: 7

Practice Location:  St. Paul, MN

dr. Kris Anderson

Years of service: 4

Practice Location: Grand Forks, ND


Dr. Jeffery J. Askew

[email protected]

dr. Jay Greenstein
Past Chair, dc

Years of Service: 12

Practice Location: Maryland and Virginia

dr. Cheryl Hawk
Scientific Commission Chair DC, LMT, PhD, CHES

Years of Service: 

Practice Location: 

dr. Clinton Daniels
Scientific Commission dc, ms

Years of Service: 4

Practice Location: 

VA Puget Sound Health Care System

Research Gate Profile

My Publications

dr. Chris Dolecki
District 2 Representative, dc

Years of Service: 2

Practice Location: Lake Orion, MI

dr. Carson C Muth

Years of Service: 2

Practice Location: Grand Forks, ND

ChiroCongress Representative

Dr. RJ Crawford


[email protected]

dr. David Paris
at-large directer,DACRB, dc

Years of Service: 6

Practice Location: Redding, CA

dr. Ron Farabaugh
ACA Representative dc

Years of Service: 18

Practice Location: 

Abca Representative

Dr. Winston Carhee  DC

[email protected]

ChiroCongress Representative

Dr. Nick Karapasas     


[email protected]

ChiroCongress Representative

Dr. Ron Wilcox

[email protected]

dr. Ray Foxworth
Vendro Representative dc

Years of Service: 4

Practice Location: Flowood, MS


Janet Jordan                CAE

[email protected]

ChiroCongress Representative

Dr. Dan Spencer

[email protected]

Emeritus Council

Dr. Wayne Whalen

[email protected]

Dr. Thomas Augat

[email protected]

Dr. Len Suiter
Emeritus Council dc, ficc

Year of Service: 30

Practice Location: Ellisville, MO


Dr. Greg Baker

[email protected]

Organization Representation

American Chiropractic Association
1701 Clarendon Blvd
Arlington, VA 22209

American Black Chiropractic Association
P.O. Box 12663
Houston, TX 77217

Congress of Chiropractic State Associations
699 June Drive
Molalla, OR 97038

National Association of Chiropractic Attorneys
1203 Governors Square Blvd.
Tallahassee, FL 32301

Scientific Commission of CCGPP

The purpose of the Scientific Commission is to advise CCGPP on issues related to searching, identifying, interpreting and compiling the scientific evidence related to chiropractic care and to collaborate as appropriate on the development, publication, dissemination and utilization of guidelines and care pathways.


Dr. Cheryl Hawk
DC, LMT, PhD, CHES — CHAIR [email protected]

Dr. Jeffrey Cates
DC, MS, DABCO, DABCC [email protected]

Dr. Clinton Daniels
DC, MS, DAAPM [email protected]

Dr. Jordan Gliedt
DC, FASA [email protected]

Dr. Dana Lawrence
DC, MMedEd, MA [email protected]

Claire Noll
MS, MLS [email protected]

Dr. Michael Schnieder
DC, PhD [email protected]

Sheryl Walters
MLS [email protected]

Dr. David N. Taylor

[email protected]

Dr. Alec Schielke
DC [email protected]

Dr. Nathan Hinkeldey
DC [email protected]